SIJHL Year End Awards: Coach of the Year

By Tanner Schafer

Over the next couple of days we will be announcing our players of the year. Teams nominated their own players and then it went to a vote between the clubs and media members with teams unable to vote for their own players. That being said, let’s jump right in.

The SIJHL Coach of the Year Award goes to Kurt Walsten of the Dryden GM Ice Dogs. Walsten led the Ice Dogs to a 2nd place finish in the regular season with an overall record of 37-15-1. Walsten’s squad played a complete brand of hockey leading the league in both power play percentage and penalty kill. The latter of which was needed as the Ice Dogs physical brand of hockey resulted in 443 more penalty minutes than the next highest club. The Ice Dogs also led the league in goals scored and short handed goals scored which resulted in Walsten’s roster picking up 3 player of the year awards. Kurt Walsten’s job behind the bench this season was good enough to win Coach of the Year.